I Think We're Alone Now
Letters
The Number You Are Calling Is Not In Service
0:00
-5:26

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of I Think We're Alone Now

The Number You Are Calling Is Not In Service

Re: Heartbreak
49

Sara

Do you remember the first time my heart got broken?  It was 2001, we were twenty-one, on tour, crisscrossing the United States opening for Rufus Wainwright.  The tour felt like a big deal. We were a small band who’d only just released our second album This Business of Art. We were struggling to make ends meet and not selling many records.  I don’t think you and I really liked touring back then. The road was unforgiving, and we couldn’t afford a backing band, so we were often alone in shitty clubs and sleeping in even shittier hotels, suffering in silence, in tandem.  I remember kind of dreading going. Remember those feelings? Compulsively hoping our agent would call with a tour, but then always sad to have to go do it. 

Two months before the tour, I started dating a woman ten years older than me.  Remember? I had been enamored with her for a long time, and so leaving was hard. She told me she loved me the morning I left. I never said it back; too tongue tied to return the words I felt but wasn’t brave enough to say.  She was going to fly to LA to see us play, and I promised myself I’d say it to her then. I wondered for a long time after if that’s what caused what happened next.

This post is for paid subscribers

I Think We're Alone Now
Letters
Tegan and Sara correspond about art, music, life and process
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tegan
Recent Episodes
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan and Sara
  Tegan
  Tegan