I Think We're Alone Now
Letters
Two Break Ups, One Tour
0:00
-1:07

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of I Think We're Alone Now

Two Break Ups, One Tour

Here's what I could shake down from the memory tree
25

Tegan,

The shows on that tour felt like a street fight. Hecklers were nothing new, but gay men doing the heckling, was. Whatever fraternity of queerness we assumed would insulate us failed to materialize. Our rebuttals from stage were witty, sneering, but always polite. The completely disinterested girls at the lip of the stage who turned their backs to us were even worse. Their attention was what I coveted most, and their rejection stung. This was no fault of Rufus’, of course. I’ve seen our own crowd behave rudely during support sets from bands. It’s a rite of passage, and we cut our teeth at those shows. 

This post is for paid subscribers

I Think We're Alone Now
Letters
Tegan and Sara correspond about art, music, life and process
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sara
Recent Episodes
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Tegan and Sara
  Tegan
  Tegan