72

Adventures in meeting a Real Housewive.

Bye. Sara!
72
Transcript

No transcript...

In September 2020, Sofia and I brought Georgia home. She was not quite four months old, had never been handled, and had been living outdoors in a cage. She was the last of her litter to be adopted and was very nervous. On the drive to Sara and Stacy’s house, where we had planned on staying for a week with our new dog to potty train her in their backyard, I noticed how dirty she was, and how much she smelled like pee. I was so regretful in those minutes that we had gotten a dog. But that first day, I felt some of the anxiety dissipate, though it would resurface a thousand times worse in the weeks and months to come.

In Sara’s backyard with Georgia, on day one.

We all took turns holding Georgia that first afternoon, letting her fall asleep on our legs or at our feet. She was tired and timid, but sweet. Stacy and I alternated trying to walk her on the leash on the grass. Which she hated. Later, Sofia and I prepared dinner in the basement suite just the two of us. Georgia fell asleep and stayed asleep through dinner. I remember thinking, "This won’t be that hard." Sofia and I toasted each other, feeling confident. One of us remarked, "We’ve got this." What fools we were! That night, we started watching The Real Housewives of Potomac, though I can't recall why we chose it over Beverly Hills or New York. Nonetheless, I instantly loved it. We now follow four different Housewives franchises, but Potomac remains my favourite. Some people have said they think it’s strange that I love the “screaming lady” shows, but honestly, sometimes I want something mindless and fun to watch. Especially at that point in my life - Covid, a new dog, anxiety about my career and what would happen to it when Covid “ended” etc - I just wanted something that would allow me to relax at night. And boy did Housewives relax me.

But you know who else the screaming ladies relaxed? GEORGIA!

A few weeks ago, while I was in LA for work, my friend Christian and I encountered Candice from The Real Housewives of Potomac in the lobby of my hotel. He screamed and we both begged to get a photo with her. She was very nice, even taking out her phone to look me up on Apple Music after Christian embarrassingly outed me as a "Canadian pop singer." As she scrolled down our page, she excitedly asked, "Are you guys twins?" I told her yes, and she complimented our look “You guys are cool.” (swoon) We took our seats and acted like teen girls scrolling through all the photos of us with Candice.

Later, as Candice left the lobby, she waved at us and yelled, "Bye Sara." It was truly awesome.

See you at Bravo Con!

I caught up on RHOP this weekend. And as always, watching my favourite screaming ladies I felt the week’s stress drain out of me. Georgia did too (Video at the top)

-Tegan

72 Comments
I Think We're Alone Now
I Think We're Alone Now
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tegan and Sara