24 Comments
founding

So that’s how it’s done. I wondered who was in charge of the music. Thanks for feeding my behind the scenes addiction. I really love how you and Tegan take us through your journeys.

I’m driving up to Oakville to see your show. Super stoked! See you two soon. 😊

This playlist will be part of my road trip music. Woohoo!!

Expand full comment
founding

Thanks for posting this! I was trying to Shazam a song before the show in Ottawa and the ambient crowd noise was too loud for Shazam to pick up the song. I'm excited to discover what that song was and hear the others again as well!

Expand full comment
founding
Apr 3·edited Apr 3

Hey Sara,

Thanks for posting! I understand you’re on tour and you can’t record an audio file for this, but please do record when you aren’t on tour, I much prefer having you and Tegan read to me and not Siri.

This post had great timing, I was actually in a bad place (for a variety of reasons), and was listening to some so jealous to get some perspective and needed something to do while I listened.

I just wanted to thank both you and Tegan for writing such excellent and amazing music that’s so relatable and raw. (I don’t just mean on so jealous, by the way).

I’ll have to give the playlist a listen later, once I’ve had some sleep and I’m in a better headspace.

Thanks for sharing! Hope the tours going well! It certainly looks and sounds awesome judging from the various videos I’ve seen on different YouTube channels I follow (which I won’t shout out, because I’m pretty sure they aren’t supposed to be recording), but if you are one of those people filming, thank you so much! I wish I could see T&S live!

Thanks Sara!

Phoenix, he/they/it, 17, Australia

Expand full comment

IF IT WAS YOU was such a staple of my adolescence. Love that that album brings joyful memories for you Sara. xx

Expand full comment
founding

This is great, loved the pre-show music. Thanks for the playlist and sharing your process. One of my goals this year is to get back into making playlists; now I’m inspired.

Expand full comment

Obsessed. My buddy Keith got me into so many of these bands when we lived together almost 20 years ago! I fell in love with Stereolab the moment he played me Miss Modular off of the Dots and Loops album 😍

Expand full comment
founding

Thanks for sharing the playlist, I am going to teleport me mentally to those venues 😍

Expand full comment
founding

Fun I wondered if you all picked the music before a show for sure or the engineers or whomever else has a toe dipped in any of your decision making.

Expand full comment

I wish I could be there to hear them. But I hope you have a great show.

Expand full comment
founding

I can’t wait to listen to this playlist, I always love when artists create their own playlists for the speakers before the shows!! Thanks for posting this Sara! 😊❤️

Especially as I can’t go to any of the shows

Expand full comment

Shoegaze is definitely getting a re boot at the moment,so many of these tunes are pretty timeless ,what a nostalgic trip I just went on,and also down a wormhole on Spotify 🙂.love it thanks Sara .

Expand full comment

Cool shoegaze songs in there 😍

Expand full comment

I probably won't be able to make it to any of these shows, but I will see you in June. Things have been very much a struggle especially the last year or so. I'm not going to go on and on, but due to extenuating circumstances, I ended up homeless, on the verge of relapse after 14 plus years of sobriety, and suicidal. Now, I'm happy to say that even though not all is well yet, I stayed sober and just celebrated my 15th anniversary, and I'm in a much better place right now. The reason I bring this up is that no matter what the circumstances, sometimes it's only music that saves us, inspires us, and keeps us going. I have a vast interest in various types of music, and I was taught from an early age that music, through the good and bad, is just as important as eating, breathing, and a roof over your head. It's food for the soul, and as I've said before and will continue to say, part of the reason I'm still here is because of your music and this late Bloomer queer woman is eternally grateful ❤️❤️❤️❤️

Expand full comment

Thank you for posting this

Expand full comment
founding

Sara, thank you for sharing your 22 year old inspirational music. I will take a listen. At that time of my life I was working 3 jobs. I didn't really have time for listening to music. Now I have the time and will listen. I saw the concert in Chatham, it was so personal and so fantastic. I Loved every minute of it. Thank You for making every performance you do so memorable. I Love you guys so much. Thank You again.

Expand full comment
founding

Feeling 22?

Expand full comment

I have a couple friends who know my music taste well and will always introduce me to a new band or artist I've never heard of. I like having friends like that because they've helped me expand my taste in music.

Expand full comment
founding

Lush, Cocteau Twins, Pale Saints, and the Breeders- love the 4AD representation 👍

Expand full comment

I've been living vicariously through fan videos of the Not Tonight tour on Youtube. Opening I Hear Noises with (🤔) Joy Division? 🔥 Keep that magic coming! The playlists and insights into musical influences are fantastic, especially when exploring song structures and discussing familiar sounds. It's intriguing when a song reminds me of another, yet I can't quite place it. So, regarding influences, I have 2 questions:

1- Was Dinosaur Jr an influence when crafting Falling Asleep?

2-Is it just me or does The Weekend's Blinding Lights sound like its channeling Hall & Oats Maneater?

Expand full comment