I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Our Moment Has Passed
0:00
-2:12

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of I Think We're Alone Now

Our Moment Has Passed

Summers just around the corner.
68

Sara,

As summer approaches, and we prepare for our upcoming tour and the release of our graphic novel, Junior High, I find myself awash with nostalgia for the carefree days of our youth. Such simple summers, yet they were full of magic. Months of us just lounging in our plastic pool, soaking up the sun in the freshly-mowed grass of our backyard, beating the heat by watching movies in the cool basement, and playing endless rounds of Mario Kart. Despite any remarkable adventures, the summers of our childhood feel so rich in my memory. Months of running around in shoes without socks, friendship bracelets tied tight around our tanned ankles, draped in homemade shorts that mom would sew for us from fabric we chose at Fabricland. I can still taste the Imperial Cheese you and I would spread on toast at Grammas in the mornings she’d babysit us, feel the feeling of huddling together with our friends, eating endless bowls of chips, and slurping on Slurpees, as we watched horror movies in the basement, the front door propped open to cool the upstairs. It was the simple things that made those summers memorable wouldn’t you agree?

Share

Anyway, I was rummaging through old demos this afternoon and found a song about summer we never officially released. I called it, Has Passed. Though it should really be called, Our Moment Has Passed. I can't recall the exact inspiration for the song, but I remember composing it during a sweltering summer in Vancouver around 2009. At the time, I was living in that stifling hot loft off Main Street. Remember? The heat in the summer would make it impossible to sleep at night, which drove me out of bed, and downstairs where I’d play guitar and write in the moonlight. Funny, as uncomfortable as those nights were, I look back on them fondly, just like I do on our childhood summers.

Enjoy,

Tegan


Has Passed

Let the summer wind hit your skin
Remind me when this all started changing
Let the summer heat knock you over, take me over
Times, they are changing
With the light of night laid out before us running wild
Oh so they called us, called us young
To the rest of us, for the best of us, we're left with this now
We resign ourselves

Our moment has passed, our moment has passed

Let the summer wind blow stories in
Like gold left buried underneath our neighbourhood
Let the summer heat escape our streets
Up overhead the lives we led in our neighbourhood


And everywhere love's spilling over, can't help ourselves
Thought we were older when we were young
To the rest of us, for the best of us, we're left with this now
We, we resign ourselves

Our moment has passed, our moment has passed

Let the summer wind reveal your skin
Remind me how we've all started changing
Let the summer heat tear through the seams
Remind me how times, they are changing


And every year, come summertime
I think, "How come things aren't alive like when we were young?"
To the rest of us, for the best of us, we're left with this now
We resign ourselves

Our moment has passed, our moment has passed

This post is for paid subscribers

I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Music, old and new, covers and random late night "jams"
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Tegan
Recent Episodes
  Sara
  Tegan
  Sara
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Sara