I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Can't Live Without
0:00
-4:38

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of I Think We're Alone Now

Can't Live Without

The evolution of a song
40

Tegan,

I found all the email, and text conversations we sent between August 19th 2021 and October 14th 2021 about FUCKING UP WHAT MATTERS. There were at least six versions of the song in my dropbox. Sometimes it just takes a while for a song to bloom. Thanks for letting me tinker with this one so much, I think it turned out great.

Sara

Want to hear the audio to this post and parts of the early demos and evolution of “Fucking Up What Matters”? Consider becoming a paid subscriber!


From: TRQ

Subject: Can't Live Without It

Date: August 19, 2021 at 12:51:42 PM PDT

To: SKQ

Stayed up late the night after everyone left. Was inspired by some of the things we had all talked about. Not sure if I landed all the melodies, or even the lyrics, but thought I would send it along anyway. Was going for a 90's Dandy Warhol’s vibe.

Might have landed more in Wallflower’s territory. Also, the bridge is kind of a placeholder. Just didn't want to send it empty. 

Can't Live Without It

I’m fucking up what matters

Falling out of love in my sleep

I’m packing up in the background

Slipping out while you dream

I treat you like cigarettes

You’re like a bad habit

I avoid you like alcohol  

Around you I’m so careful

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

Hate to think what would happen

Hate the feeling that you’d hate me

Still I’m changing in the background

Falling in love in my daydreams

I treat you like cigarettes

I try to kick you like a habit

I avoid you like alcohol

Around you I’m so careful

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

How do I recover

From: SKQ

Subject: Re: Can't Live Without It

Date: August 19, 2021 at 1:41:09 PM PDT

To: TRQ

This is great! Really like the lyrics, idea, and melody. Bridge could be better, yes. I think keep at it. 

I also wondered if the second pre-chorus could have different lyrics than the cig, alcohol reference...that way when it comes back in the third broken down pre they're fresher feeling?

From: SKQ

Subject: fucking up what matters

Date: August 26, 2021 at 9:59:09 AM PDT

To: TRQ

Took a stab for fun at "popping" up your latest song because I wanted to hear it faster. 

Attached is a bounce of me singing it, but also the stems if you like any of what I did and wanna play around, re-sing, trash it whatever! 

Didn't get to the bridge yet because I was gonna take a shot at different chords. I also feel like the lyrics in that section could be more interesting. Maybe more things you can't live without, or more about what it is that makes you unable to live without this person. Etc. What's there now feels like a little placeholder. 

I would have worked a lot more on this but ran out of time yesterday. So, if you're not into it, no sweat! 

-sara

PS. Made a few adjustments to the lyrics for the new tempo...

I’m fucking up what matters, fall in love in my sleep

I’m packing up in the background, slipping out while you dream

I treat you like cigarettes, you’re like a bad habit

I avoid you like alcohol, around you I’m so careful

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out but I, I try to cut you out but I

I hate that this happened, hate that you avoid me

I see you changing your surroundings, making plans without me

You treat me like a credit card, a debt that you can’t afford

Drain me like a bank account, spend until I’m blacking out  

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

From: TRQ

Subject: Fucking Up What Matters 3.0

Date: September 27, 2021 at 1:38:08 PM PDT

To: SKQ

This is a newer version that's faster than all the versions, 

and also has a variation on chords that we sort of talked

about in the studio, as well as a new bridge idea. I also altered

some of the lyrics.

I like some of John's production choices, but I also liked

your start of a version that I originally sent...

Wondering if it's worth trying to create a hybrid? Or start

fresh...

BPM 140

Fucking Up What Matters

C E D x 2

I’m fucking up what matters, making everything about me

I’m packing up in the background, slipping out before this kills me

E C D x 2

I treat you like cigarettes, you’re like a bad habit

I tell myself I’ve got to stop, but I know I can’t help myself

C G                                    C G

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

Aminor G C G                        C G

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

Aminor G C G                   Aminor G C G                        

I try to cut you out but i, I try to cut you out but I

I’m not trying to destroy us; I just hate what we’ve become

Without you I feel empty, but around you I feel numb

I treat you like a credit card, rack up debt I can’t afford

I drain you like a bank account, spend until I’m blacking out

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out but i, I try to cut you out but I

E C G D

You’re like a tattoo, something I can’t undo

E C G D

I hope I got under your skin too

Feels good to admit it, I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out, but I can’t live without it

I try to cut you out but i, I try to cut you out but I,

I try to cut you out but I can’t live without you

From: SKQ

Subject: You're Like A Tattoo

Date: September 27, 2021 at 9:09:51 PM PDT

To: TRQ

Not even close to done but...felt good? Exciting? Went for pixies covering magnetic fields. 

You’re like a tattoo, something I can’t undo

I hope I got under your skin too 

I'm not trying to destroy us 

I just hate what we've become

Without you, I feel empty

But around you, I feel numb

I treat you like a credit card 

I can't afford

I drain you like a bank account 

Until there's nothing more 

I’m fucking up what matters

Falling in love in my sleep

I'm fucking up what matters

Slipping outside while you dream

You’re like a tattoo, something I can’t undo

I hope I got under your skin too 

I treat you like a cigarette, such a bad habit

Avoid you like alcohol, I can't really stand it

I’m fucking up what matters

Falling in love in my sleep

I'm fucking up what matters

Slipping outside while you dream

You’re like a tattoo, something I can’t undo

I hope I got under your skin too

On Tue, Sep 28, 2021 at 10:42 AM

TRQ wrote:

This is great!

I definitely think if you want to abandon the original chorus you could...

but I think it's definitely got the right spirit now!

From: SKQ

Subject: Re: You're Like A Tattoo

Date: September 28, 2021 at 7:41:39 PM PDT

To: TRQ

Tried putting in the original chorus...not sure if it works. 

On Sep 29, 2021, at 09:24,

TRQ wrote:

oh great. works perfectly. this is in good shape. total banger!

From: SKQ

Subject: Re: You're Like A Tattoo

Date: September 29, 2021 at 9:55:19 AM PDT

To: TRQ

Before I dig further into it do you think I should just send it to john? I feel like it is sitting in a good place but could probably use some outside production perspective.

This post is for paid subscribers

I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Music, old and new, covers and random late night "jams"
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sara
Recent Episodes
  Tegan
  Sara
  Tegan
  Sara
  Tegan
  Tegan