I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Closer to Closer
88
0:00
-3:08

Closer to Closer

A Little Pop
88

Photo by Lindsey Byrnes // Los Angeles, 2012

Tegan,

On June 21, 2012, I sent you this email:

"My argument for "closer" over "little closer" is that no one will ever say the full title/think of the full title. It will be "closer" in most peoples brains. Also- hear me out: the word "little" in front of "closer" makes me think of the song as smaller. "Closer" sounds big, confident, easy. "Little closer" is harder to remember and makes the song feel small."

I hadn’t remembered that detail about the original title until I went digging through my sent folder last night. It felt especially apt since we just went back and forth a few weeks ago about the song titles for our new album. I guess some things never change. 

Sara

PS. This audio is from the rehearsal we did at the Warehouse in March last year.

**click images to get a CLOSER look


Wanna get a little bit Closer?

88 Comments
I Think We're Alone Now
Music
Music, old and new, covers and random late night "jams"
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Sara
Recent Episodes
  Tegan
  Sara
  Tegan
  Sara
  Tegan
  Tegan
  Sara